If you are an iPhone owner, you should immediately check out an important feature that can help you protect yourself.
It’s called Safety Check and it can stop your phone from being spied on.
The feature is brand new in iOS 16 and aims to let you see who your information is being shared with.
If you’ve had an iPhone for a few years, it’s very possible that you’ve shared personal content with other people.
It could be your location or a photo album, which may have felt good at the time – but it doesn’t anymore.
For example, you may have an ex-partner, and they may still be monitoring what you do online.
Or a sneaky online scammer may have found their way into your iPhone. Whatever the case, Safety Check can stop dangerous spying.
„If your personal safety is at risk, you can use Safety Check on iPhone (using iOS 16 or later) to quickly stop sharing your information or review and update sharing with individual people and apps.“
“When using Safety Check, be aware that people can notice if you stop sharing your information with them. When you end a sharing relationship, you may lose access to data such as shared photos and notes.“
To find Safety Check in Settings, first make sure you’re signed in to your Apple ID with two-factor authentication on your iPhone.
Once logged in, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > Safety Check.
According to Apple, you can use Safety Check to:
• View and remove devices logged into your account
• View and update trusted phone numbers
• Change Apple ID password
• Update your emergency contacts
• Update your device password and Face ID or Touch ID information
There is also an option called „Emergency Reset“.
She immediately stops sharing all the items on the list above.
„Meet the ‘Safety Check’ feature in iOS 16,“ cyber expert Chris Hauck told The Sun.
„Safety Check allows users to review and revoke the access they have granted to other users.“
said Hawke, consumer privacy attorney at Pixel Privacy.
“Here they can reset app privacy permissions and can limit messaging and FaceTime to their device.
„This feature can be especially convenient for victims of domestic violence.“
The safety check feature will check a range of popular apps, including Health, Home, Calendar, Find my locations, Notes and Notes. Pictures’.